Swimming takes conference crown

Women’s Swimming & Diving win their first NEWMAC title

For the first time in school history, MIT took first place at the NEWMAC Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships. With this win, the Engineers put an end to Springfield College’s 10-year reign as league champions. Over the course of the weekend, nine NEWMAC Championship records fell at the Mount Holyoke College Natatorium.

MIT touched the wall first nine times during the weekend en route to 917.5 points. The Engineers were followed by Springfield (894.5), the Coast Guard Academy (446), Wheaton College (359.5), Wellesley College (340), Clark University (299.5), WPI (202), Smith College (188), Babson College (115), and Mount Holyoke (113).

Tech led by just 27 points heading into the final day of competition, and the MIT tandem of Katelyn M. Rossick ’14 and Christine K. Rogers ’14 occupied the top two spots in the 200-yard backstroke early in Sunday’s competition. The duo each provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championship with their times of 2:06.18 and 2:06.84, respectively. They were closely followed by teammate Kathryn M. Greskoff ’13 (2:08.90).

Tech freshman Morganne C. Klein finished second in the 200-yard breaststroke in a time of 2:23.15, good enough to qualify for an NCAA B cut. MIT added to its point total in the 200-yard butterfly, nabbing the top two positions once again. This time, it was Joanna R. Yeh ’14 with her NCAA B cut time of 2:08.36 and Anna S. Kokensparger ’13 (2:08.80).

MIT’s Sarah A. Weiss ’14 (17:38.57) took third in the 1650-yard freestyle, also making the NCAA B cut.

Beth L. Stavely ’11 took second in the three-meter diving competition with an NCAA B cut score of 479.70.

MIT next travels to the University of Tennessee from March 23–26 to compete at the National Division III Championships.