Men’s swim wins 219-78; stays undefeated

Women win 12 of 16 events with a 205-94 victory against Wheaton, with Rogers, Murphy, Kokensparger, Hu beating the Lyons at 200 yard medley

The MIT men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams traveled to Wheaton College last Thursday for their first meet of the year.

In the 16 events at the meet, the men’s team won all 14 of the swimming events and only dropped first place points in the two diving competitions en route to a 219-78 victory, keeping their undefeated record this season in line.

MIT started the meet with a bang by seeing their top three foursomes go 1-2-3 in the first event. Ryan N. Terbush ’12, Toomas R. Sepp ’11, Michael J. Liao ’14, and William C. “Colby” Dunn ’14 won the 200 yard medley relay in 1:35.97.

Dunn also joined Carlo R. Biedenharn ’14, Anthony Chen ’13, and Brendan F. Liu ’13 in the ‘A’ squad that won the final event of the night, the 400 yard freestyle relay, in 3:15 even. Earlier in the meet, the MIT freshman won the 50 yard (21.15) and 100 yard freestyle (46.99) events.

Biedenharn also picked up two victories for the Engineers. The freshman won the 500 yard free in 4:55.61 and the 200 yard free in 1:48.09, both events in which MIT took the top three places. Freshman Jeffrey Lin also won two individual events. He swam to victory in the 200 yard fly in 1:56.35, then took the 200 yard IM crown in 2:00.48.

Ron Rosenberg ’13 was the final multi-event winner for the Engineers. Rosenberg was the first of three Engineers to place in the 100 yard back, winning the event in a time of 53.86. He would go on to take the 200 yard backstroke in 1:58.23, followed by three more of his MIT teammates.

Liao excelled in the 100 yard breaststroke, with a winning time of 58.74, the only result under a minute. Maxwell T. Pruner ’13 was the distance winner for MIT, swimming to a victory in 10:17.16 in the 1000 yard freestyle. Sepp took the 100 yard fly in 51.97.

Chao He ’12 was the lone diver for MIT, placing fourth in both the one meter and three meter apparatus.

On the women’s side, the Engineers continued their unbeaten season on Thursday night by winning 12 of the 16 events en route to a 205-94 victory.

As expected, MIT’s 200 yard medley ‘A’ team started off the meet with a victory. Christine K. Rogers ’14, Calley L. Murphy ’14, Anna S. Kokensparger ’13, and Elina L. Hu ’13 beat out the Lyons’ ‘A’ squad with a time of 1:49.70.

In event 3, Engineer freshman Sarah A. Weiss ’14 won the 1000 yard free in 11:09.79. Wheaton won two of the next three events, but Rogers took the 100 yard back in 1:01.56 for MIT, Katelyn M. Rossick ’14 won the 200 yard fly in 2:15.53, and Kokensparger sprinted to victory in a 24.08 second 50 yard freestyle.

Kokensparger also won the 100 yard freestyle (53.24), while Rogers and Rossick took first and second, respectively, in the 200 yard backstroke. Alexandra Hall captured the 500 yard freestyle for Tech in 5:16.86, with Weiss grabbing second place points.

MIT took the top three spots in the 100 yard butterfly with the victory going to freshman Joanna R. Yeh ’14 (1:00.53). The Engineers also grabbed the top three places in the 200 yard IM, led by Kokensparger (2:13.64), Rossick (2:14.94), and Allison M. Alwan ’12 (2:23.40).

In diving competition, Elizabeth L. Stavely ’11 and Elise A. Stave ’13 went 1-2 on both the one meter and three meter boards. Stavely, a senior, scored 251.17 in 1 meter competition and 264.53 in 3 meter, while the sophomore Stave scored 197.85 and 217.12, respectively.

Both teams will be back in the pool when they travel to Colby College on Saturday.