2010-2011 IFC Executive Board election results announced

2010-2011 IFC Executive Board election results announced

A new Interfraternity Council (IFC) executive board was elected last Wednesday, Nov. 3. Gordon W. Wintrob ’12, a member of Phi Sigma Kappa, will be the new president. The new board will assume their positions at the next Presidents’ Council on Wednesday, Nov. 17.

“I can confidently say that the Greek system attracts some of the most intelligent students, the most competitive athletes, and the most impressive leaders at the Institute,” Wintrob said. “This passion and energy is what excites me about serving as IFC president. I look forward to bringing the chapters together to collaborate on common goals such as brotherhood, alumni relations, and philanthropy.”

Wintrob added that he would like to see a shift from the IFC being viewed as a “rule enforcer” to be more of a “supportive resource that helps all of our chapters and brothers.”

Wintrob ideas to increase both transparency within the IFC and with the MIT community include revamping the IFC website, clarifying the Delegates’ Council role as an open forum for fraternities, and adding office hours during which students can communicate with the IFC Executive Board.

The IFC, in addition electing a new board, has established a judicial review committee in response to concerns over IFC judicial processes that arose following Phi Beta Epsilon’s suspension in September. The new committee is composed of volunteer members and currently includes 22 representatives from 13 chapters. According to Ryan Schoen ’11, the outgoing IFC president, the committee is in the process of scheduling their first meeting.

Anjaney P. Kottapalli ‘11 of Pi Lambda Phi volunteered to chair the committee, and the Presidents’ Council, which is composed of all fraternity chapter presidents and IFC executive board, approved Kottapalli’s position. Wintrob said he plans to work closely with the committee and the MIT administration to improve the judicial system.

IFC Election Results
President Gordon W. Wintrob ’12 Phi Sigma Kappa
Vice President Tim Stumbaugh ’12 Phi Delta Theta
Executive Assistant Maxsim Kolysh ’14 Zeta Psi
Risk Manager Jack J. Wanderman ’13 Kappa Sigma
Judicial Chair Stephen A. Hendel ’12 Chi Phi
Recruitment and

Programming Chair

Eduardo D. Russian ’13 Theta Delta Chi
Publicity Chair Ignatius Chen ‘13 Theta Xi