Sports Shorts

Hernley Named Women’s Soccer Player of the Year

NEWMAC announced its 2009 women’s soccer post-season awards on Tuesday. Lauren R. Hernley ’11 received accolades as NEWMAC Women’s Soccer Player of the Year, and the Engineers picked up five awards total.

As co-captain, Hernley started every match of MIT’s 12-5-2 season while leading the team in assists. Last weekend, she helped MIT to clinch its first NEWMAC tournament championship and NCAA National Championship Tournament berth.

Hernley also received her second All-Conference honors with selection to this year’s First-Team. Joining her on the First-Team was Emily Kuo ’13. Senior co-captain Kathryn A. Pesce ’10 was awarded Second-Team honor, along with Alisha D. Lussiez ’12.

—Paul Blascovich, DAPER Staff

Women’s Volleyball Collects NEWMAC Awards

For the second year in a row, the MIT women’s volleyball team received four conference honors from NEWMAC on Tuesday.

Alexandra T. May ’10 and Barden E. Cleeland ’10 collected All-Conference First-Team accolades while Jennifer Li ’11 and Alyssa L. Rothman ’13, both first-time honorees, represented the Cardinal and Gray on the Second Team.

May picked up her second straight First-Team nod while leading the Engineers’ attack with 409 kills to go along with 300 digs and 64 blocks. Cleeland, a Second-Team pick last year, posted a team-high 106 blocks in addition to 262 kills, a .300 hitting percentage, and 44 aces.

—Mindy Brauer, DAPER Staff

Silva Earns NEWMAC Coach of the Year Honors

After helping MIT capture its first ever NEWMAC Field Hockey Tournament Championship on Sunday, Cheryl Silva was named the conference’s Coach of the Year. In addition to Silva’s accolades, four Engineers were named to the All-Conference Team. Keri A. Dixon ’11, Molly E. McShane ’13, and Anna H. Teruya ’12 picked up First Team plaudits while Kimberly A. Barker ’13 made the Second Team.

This is the second Coach of the Year honor for Silva, who helped the Cardinal and Grey capture the NEWMAC Championship for the first time in the league’s 12 year history. She also received the award in 1994. Under Silva’s guidance, MIT has already set a new program record with 17 wins this year.

—Greg McKeever, DAPER Staff