Women’s Lacrosse Collects IWLCA Academic Accolades Tech Tennis Receives ITA Honors

Women’s Lacrosse Collects IWLCA Academic Accolades

For the sixth straight season the MIT women’s lacrosse team qualified for the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Merit Squad as it posted the third-highest GPA of 56 programs. Bryn Mawr College led the way with an average of 3.49, followed by the University of Rochester (3.453), and the Engineers (3.4).

Individually, Laura C. Watson ’08 earned her second selection to the Academic Honor Roll as Stephanie V. Brenman ’09 and Lily He ’09 were first-time honorees. Since the inception of MIT’s women’s lacrosse program in 1993, the Engineers have had at least one award winner every season.

New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) foes Mount Holyoke College, Wellesley College, and Wheaton College were named to the Division III Honor Squad; each had one representative on the Academic Honor Roll.

—Mindy Brauer, DAPER Staff

Tech Tennis Receives ITA Honors

MIT was the only NEWMAC institution to receive All-Academic Team accolades for both its men’s and women’s programs as announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). The women’s squad collected its sixth award while the men received their first nod.

Individually, Yi Wang ’09 and Karina N. Pikhart ’09 picked up their third Scholar-Athlete honor as Leslie A. Hansen ’10 and Emily J. Onufer ’10 were selected for the second time. The accolade was Hansen’s second from the ITA this past season as she was named to its All-America Team following a 1-1 performance at the NCAA Singles Championship. Sheena Bhalla ’11 and Sonya Makhni ’11 were first-time honorees for the Engineers.

Representing MIT on the men’s side was Ryan W. Castonia ’09, Jonathan F. Farm ’09, David E. Iba ’09, Vinith Misra ’08, Peden P. Nichols ’09, Michael R. Price G, and Ken Van Tilburg ’11.

­—Mindy Brauer, DAPER Staff