New Deans, Administrators Appointed

New Deans, Administrators Appointed

Three new deans were appointed as heads of MIT Schools, and a new graduate student dean was appointed, marking a large change in leadership.

Mark A. Kastner, former head of the Department of Physics, became the dean of science. David C. Schmittlein, formerly from the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School, became the dean of MIT’s Sloan School of Management. Subra Suresh PhD ’81, a professor in the Department of Material Science and Engineering, became the new dean of engineering.

Steven R. Lerman ’72, professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, became the new dean for graduate students.

“One of my main goals as the dean is to blend academia and student social life in order to create relationships between faculty and students as well as a strong graduate community in the northwest part of campus,” Lerman said in June.

Amidst the sea of dean appointments, Barbara H. Liskov and Wesley L. Harris were appointed to fill the associate provost for faculty equity post, which was created in September 2006. The appointments were made after recommendations by the race initiative committee, and came after James L. Sherley’s tenure controversy.