Preliminary unofficial results of 2021 Cambridge City Council election released, MIT alumnus elected

The preliminary unofficial results of the Nov. 2 Cambridge City Council election have been announced. A total of 19 candidates ran, and nine were elected to the council.

Incumbents Sumbul Siddiqui, Patricia M. Nolan, E. Denise Simmons, Dennis J. Carlone, Marc C. McGovern, Quinton Y. Zondervan SM ’95, and Alanna M. Mallon were re-elected.

The two newly elected candidates were Burhan Azeem ’19 and Paul F. Toner.

Incumbents who were not re-elected were first-term councilor Jivan Sobrinho-Wheeler and Timothy J. Toomey; Toomey did not run in the 2021 election. 

Total votes cast in the election fell slightly from 20,433 in 2019 to 20,253 this year. 

The School Committee election’s preliminary unofficial results were also released; Ayesha Wilson, Alfred B. Fantini, Akriti Bhambi, Rachel B. Weinstein, José Luis Villarreal, and David J. Weinstein were elected.

All three measures on the 2021 ballot — an annual review of the city manager’s performance, allocating council power to approve city manager appointments, and a review of the city charter every 10 years by the council —  also passed preliminarily. 

Official results for both elections will not be declared until Nov. 12, when provisional and overseas absentee ballots will be counted.