Changes to political science undergraduate committee

Course 17 minor advisor, concentration advisor, and undergraduate committee chair named

The MIT political science department has announced changes to the undergraduate committee.

Professor Ben Schneider will be minor advisor, Professor Bernardo Zacka ’05 concentration advisor, and Professor Charles Stewart undergraduate committee chair.

Katherine Hoss, undergraduate administrator, wrote in an email to undergraduate political science students Feb. 10 to “make sure that you are communicating with the appropriate advisor about your program.”

Political science “continues to be a place where undergraduates can find an interesting set of subjects that can provide a broad perspective about the larger political context in which science and engineering are practiced today,” Stewart wrote in an email to The Tech.

Stewart wrote that the political science department “will be offering a number of subjects in the fall that should be of interest to students who wish to learn more about the upcoming presidential election.”

Stewart added that the political science department recently changed its major requirements to make the undergraduate thesis optional.

“Without a thesis requirement, we hope to provide greater flexibility to students who wish to deepen their understanding of politics through pursuing a major,” Stewart wrote.