Sports Shorts

Men’s track and field wins home meet

At its second home meet in the past two weeks, the MIT men’s outdoor track and field team finished in first place with 246.5 points. Bates College was close behind in second place with 229, the University of Southern Maine was third with 115.5 and Colby College was fourth with 85 points.

Tyler S. Singer-Clark ’14 kicked the meet off with first place finishes in the 100 meter with a time of 11.06 and the 200 meter in 21.93. States Lee ’16 came second in the 200 meter in 22.25.

MIT dominated the 400 meter race, taking six of the top eight spots. Derek C. Barnes ’16 and Lee tied for first with a time of 48.84, while Patrick K. Marx ’13 was third in 49.32. Nick A. Diamantoni ’15 was fifth in 50.73, Brian M. Gager ’14 was seventh with a 51.06 and Daniel J. Ronde ’13 came in eighth with a time of 52.17.

In the 5,000 meter, Matthew G. Jordan ’15 was second with a time of 15:12.00, Kyle J. Hannon ’13 was third in 15:19.00 and Allen K. Leung ’15 finished fourth in 15:19.34. Michael S. Kaba was first in the 400 meter hurdles with a time of 54.58.

MIT won both the 4x100 and the 4x400 relays. In the 4x100, Michael J. DuPlessis ’14, Kaba, Lee and Singer-Clark crossed the line in 42.60, just a tenth of a second ahead of Southern Maine’s relay. In the 4x400, Kaba, Marx, Ronde and Singer-Clark finished with a time of 3:17.03, leaving a gap of over four seconds between them and Southern Maine’s relay.

Adrian C. Samsel ’16 kicked off the field events with a second place finish in the high jump with a jump of 1.88 meters. He was followed by John B. Thomas ’15 and Matthew D. Falk G in third and fourth, both with jumps of 1.83 meters. Cyrus Vafadari ’13 won the pole vault in 4.60 meters. David C. Motley ’15 was second in the long jump with 6.37 meters and first in the triple jump with a jump of 13.47 meters. Angel S. Echevarria ’16 finished directly after him in the triple jump with a jump of 13.31 meters.

MIT will return to action today, traveling to Princeton, N.J. for the Larry Ellis Invitational.

Charlotte Brackett