New UA Council appointed, meeting soon

CORRECTION TO THIS ARTICLE: This news brief misidentified Alec C. Lai ’13 as Next House President. While Lai is the UA Council Representative for Next House, the current Next House President is Austin D. Brinson ’13.

New UA Council appointed, meeting soon

The UA Council, the UA’s main ruling body that replaced the Senate, has been almost completely filled, with the off-campus representative yet to be determined. The Council includes representation for every dorm, the Interfraternity Council (IFC), the Panhellenic Association (Panhel), the Living Group Council (LGC), and off-campus residents, each selected in a way determined by their constituents. The Council will have its first meeting on Tuesday, Feb. 21 at 7:30 p.m. in the Senate Chambers, W20-400, according UA Vice President Amanda C. David ’13. The meeting will be open, and food will be served.

The members of the council are as follows:


• Brian Luque ’12, Baker House

• Janille “Affi” Maragh ’13, Burton Conner House

• Robert M. Johnson ’13, East Campus President

• Ryan T. Normandin* ’13, former MagGregor House senator

• Sungmin “Regina” Cho ’14, Maseeh Hall President

• Elise A. Stave* ’13, McCormick Hall

• Benjamin I. Shaibu ’14, New House

• Alec C. Lai ’13, Next House President

• Alexandra M. Westbrook ’13, former Random Hall senator

• Katy I. Gero ’13, Senior House

• Eli H. Ross ’14, Simmons Hall


• Thomas A. Anderson ’13, IFC president,
Zeta Psi

• Kyle M. Smith ’13, Kappa Sigma

• Alexander T. Kiefer ’15, Zeta Psi

• Douglas O. Sanchez ’14, Theta Delta Chi


• Denzil Sikka ’13, Panhel President, Alpha Phi

• Christine S. Lai ’13, Alpha Chi Omega

• Lauren M. Allen ’13, Kappa Alpha Theta


• Alexander W. Dehnert ’12, Epsilon Theta


To Be Determined

—Bruno B. F. Faviero

* — Normandin and Stave are Tech staffers.