Big Screw nominations and Monday totals

CORRECTION TO THIS ARTICLE: This article on Big Screw totals incorrectly states that Alpha Chi Omega runs the charity competition. Alpha Phi Omega (APO) runs Big Screw.

Big Screw nominations and Monday totals




Pavel Etingof, Professor of Mathematics


American Cancer Society

Craig Carter, Professor of Materials Science


Camp Kesem

Dean Colombo


Loaves and Fishes

Michael Yaffe, Professor of Biology


American Red Cross — Japan

David Jerison, Professor of Mathematics



Julie Norman, Director of Undergraduate Advising


Leadership Training Institute


(Cullen Buie, Jacopo Buongiorno)


American Red Cross Earthquake/Tsunami Relief Fund

Steve Leeb, Professor of EECS


Pine Street Inn

Susan Lanza, Course 9 Administrator



Alexander van Oudenaarden, Professor of Biology


Save the Children

Albert Meyer, Professor of EECS


ACLU Foundation


(J.G. Brisson, Anette E. Hosoi)



Kit Cummings, Professor of Chemistry



Alexander Mitsos, Professor of Mechanical Engineering


Big Sister Association of Greater Boston

Muriel Medard, EE/RLE Professor


Soldiers’ Angels

James Roberge, Professor of EECS


Make-a-Wish Foundation

The Institute Screw Contest, commonly known as the Big Screw, is an annual charity fundraiser hosted by Alpha Chi Omega that raises money for a variety of causes. Faculty or staff who “screw” over students can be nominated by anyone and select their favorite charity that students donate to as a “vote” for that particular professor. One cent is equal to one vote. So far, the Big Screw has received $235.79 total with Pavel Etingof, Professor of Mathematics, in the lead with $107.78 for the American Cancer Society.

—Jessica J. Pourian