Men’s Volleyball wins MIT Invitational

Engineers finish 4-0 in tournament, earn first title since ’07 season

This past weekend, the nationally-ranked No. 13 MIT Men’s Volleyball team dropped only one set en route to its first MIT Invitational crown since 2007. With a 4-0 outing, the Engineers improved to 23-5 on the season, marking the program’s seventh consecutive 20-win campaign. Patrick J. Vatterott ’13 was selected to the All-Tournament Team while David R. Thomas ’12 was named the Tournament MVP.

MIT opened the weekend with a 25-15, 25-15, 25-17 win over Emerson College. Kenneth M. Siebert ’14 led the way with 12 kills and a .364 hitting percentage to go along with five digs. Thomas posted eight kills and a .400 hitting performance, while Vatterott notched seven kills and two blocks.

Thomas powered the Engineers with 18 kills, a .607 hitting percentage, and five blocks in their 25-17, 25-27, 25-23, 25-13 victory over Lasell College. William B. Evans ’14 recorded 13 kills and two aces as Siebert contributed 10 digs and eight kills. Vatterott registered six kills and four blocks, while Jeremy J. Velazquez ’12 amassed 15 digs, earning him a place in the American Volleyball Coaches Association 15 dig club. Timothy R. Lee ’11 compiled 50 assists, eight digs, and three aces.

In a 25-9, 25-7, 25-13 decision against Mount Ida College, Vatterott was a force at the net as he racked up 10 blocks and six kills. Siebert had a team-high nine kills, and Thomas posted six kills and five blocks. Caine L. Jette ’10 and Velazquez both finished with four digs, and Jette added three aces.

The Cardinal and Gray closed out the tournament with a 25-22, 25-21, 25-21 win over No. 12 Emmanuel College. Thomas put up 10 kills, five digs, and three blocks as Evans followed with nine kills and four blocks. Siebert tallied six digs, five kills, two blocks, and two aces, and Velazquez and Jette chipped in six and five digs, respectively.

The Engineers will host a tri-match on Saturday, March 12. MIT will play Daniel Webster College at 10 a.m. and Mount Ida College at 2 p.m.