Engineers make NEWMAC all-conference teams this fall

49 get NEWMAC academic honors for 4.35+ GPAs

Several MIT athletes received NEWMAC postseason honors this week.

In men’s soccer, Christian W. Therkelsen ’11, Zachary A. Kabelac ’12, and Benjamin A. Lewis ’13 were selected to the conference first-team, while Jonathan K. Tebes ’14 made second-team. Head Coach Milton Gooding was named the conference coach of the year.

On the women’s side Lauren Hernley ’11 was honored as the NEWMAC Athlete of the Year. Joining her on the conference first-team were Emily Kuo ’13, Alisha D. Lussiez ’12, and Meghan S. Wright ’13. Andrea Y. Park ’13 was selected to second-team.

In cross country, Roy A. Wedge ’14 and Martina A. de Geus ’14 earned Rookie of the Year honors on the men’s and women’s sides, respectively. Wedge was also named Runner of the Year. Paul D. Welle ’11, Richard J. Prevost ’11, Daniel E. Harper ’12, Gihan S. Amarasiriwardena ’11 and Joseph A. Christopher ’12 joined Wedge on the men’s All-Conference team; Katherine J. Eve ’12, Tania K. Morimoto ’12, Alina E. Gatowski ’11 , Claire E. O’Connell ’14 and Sarah L. Sprague ’13 were also selected for the women.

In field hockey, Kameron L. Klauber ’12 and Molly E. McShane ’13 were named to the All-conference Team.

Jenny Li ’11 made second-team for women’s volleyball.

In addition, 49 Engineers were selected to the fall NEWMAC Academic All-Conference team, which requires a 4.35/5.0 GPA after the 2010 spring semester and a participation in a varsity program the entire fall season.

The full list of honorees can be found on the NEWMAC website,