Sports Shorts

Engineers repeat as NEWMAC champions for fourth straight year

Three-time defending champion MIT had five runners finish in the top eight — including a pair of freshmen — and the Engineers won their fourth straight New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) women’s cross country championship on Saturday afternoon at Moore State Park.

MIT, which finished with 24 points, had runners finish second, third and fourth, with second place finisher Katherine J. Eve ’12 wrapping up the 5K layout nearly eight seconds behind the individual champion from Wellesley.

The course ran exceptionally fast as the top 17 finishers all ran times faster than the previous course record.

In addition to Eve, Engineer teammates Tania K. Morimoto ’12 (18:38.41) and Alina E. Gatowski ’11 (18:39.21) turned in top five performances.

MIT freshman Martina A. de Geus ’14 was the race’s top freshman finisher in seventh place with a time of 19:03.75 to earn the 2010 NEWMAC Rookie of the Year award.

—Greg McKeever, DAPER Staff