MIT Football Players Win NEFC Awards for Strong Performance

Seven Engineers were honored by the New England Football Conference for their achievements both on and off the field.

Offensively, All-American captain DeRon M. Brown ’10 was the only player to be named to either the first or second team. Brown, the first-team representative for the second consecutive year, ended the year with 1363 total yards on 269 rushing attempts and 151.4 average yards per game — which significantly dropped when Brown left the final game of the year with a concussion in the first quarter. Brown was also named the offensive player of the year in the Boyd Division of the NEFC for the second consecutive year.

On defense, linebacker Peter W. Gilliland ’12 and defensive back Brian P. Doyle ’11 were named to the first team, while captain Alexander F. Rubino ’10 was named to the second team for the second straight year.

Gilliland led the NEFC with 13.0 tackles per game, totaling 117 tackles, 52 solo. He was second in total tackles, but the leading tackler for Worcester State had played an extra game. Gilliland was “decently happy with [his] performance during the season.” The sophomore linebacker, however, understands it’s a team game; “a big motivator for me during the offseason is the team’s performance. The team didn’t do well, regardless of my personal awards, and that will only push me to continue to work hard and push myself and my teammates.”

Doyle anchored the defensive secondary, providing the MIT defense with 44 tackles, 27 solo, 1.5 tackles for a loss, 1 sack, and 4 interceptions. Doyle, now a junior, has played all across the field, returning punts and kicks for the Engineers after starting his career as a quarterback.

“I am excited and honored to receive the accolades, to be in the class with Pete, DeRon, and Alex. It gives me something to build off of next year. The awards system is also based off of team performance, so hopefully, with a few more W’s, more accolades will accumulate for us, and it makes me and everyone else over the offseason to push it in the weight room.”

Rubino finished his final campaign with 43 tackles, 19 solo, and lead the team with 12.0 tackles for a loss, 1 sack and one interception. Rubino was also awarded the Hal Chalmers Award, given to the senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

“I was a little disappointed in myself because my goal at the beginning of the season was 1st team, but I’m still proud and thrilled to be named to the 2nd team. As well, I am very appreciative and ecstatic for the Hal Chalmers award. These awards, however, don’t make up for a disappointing season, but I am definitely optimistic about the team’s future.”

Along with these awards based on football performances, Doyle, Rubino, Brian H. Mickle ’10, captain William J. Gibson ’10, and Zachary W. Rose ’10 were named to the Academic All-District team. Of the 5, Rose was the only player who did not start all 5 games, as a broken ankle left him sidelined for the majority of the year. Gibson finished the season as the Cardinal and Grey’s third leading tackler, accounting for 57 tackles, 4.5 tackles for a loss, 2 forced fumbles, and 2 fumble recoveries, while Mickle ended his year with 25 total tackles, 3 tackles for loss, one sack, and one forced fumble.

All 5 nominations will be eligible for the CoSIDA Academic All-American award.