Sports Shorts

NEWMAC Announces 2009 Spring Academic All-Conference Teams

The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference recently announced the 2009 NEWMAC Spring Academic All-Conference Team. Once again, MIT reigned supreme, collecting a league-best 48 honors, and finishing the year with a total of 124 awards.

Honoress must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2008 fall semester, achieved a second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

Spring sports sponsored by the NEWMAC include: baseball, women’s crew, women’s lacrosse, softball, men’s tennis, and men’s and women’s outdoor track and field.

Springfield secured the second-highest number of honorees with 41 selections, followed by WPI with 25.

—James Kramer, DAPER Staff

Walter Alessi Named Pilgrim Lacrosse League Coach of the Year

The MIT men’s lacrosse team capped off its remarkable season with a slew of awards from the Pilgrim Lacrosse League. For the eighth time in his career, Walter Alessi was tabbed for Coach of the Year accolades after guiding the Engineers to their first playoff appearance since 2001.

Ryan W. Ballentine ’09, Corey Garvey ’10, and Eric S. Zuk ’11 represented MIT on the All-Conference Second Team, marking the program’s most selections in nine years. In addition, MIT set the standard for Pilgrim All-Academic honors, tallying 13. Ballentine, Dylan F. Roden ’09, Patrick D. Shannon ’09, and Ebbe G. Strathairn ’09 picked up their third career awards while William J. Gibson ’10, Thomas W. Hay ’10, and Jason M. Rathje ’09 were repeat honorees. John R. Kucharczyk ’11, Justin D. Myers ’11, Daniel G. Piemont ’10, Nicholas D. Sisler ’11, Tomas L. Vianna ’11, and Neil S. Zimmerman 09 earned their first recognitions.

—Mindy Brauer, DAPER Staff

Women’s Lacrosse Receives NEWMAC All-Conference Honors

The MIT women’s lacrosse team topped off its record-breaking campaign with a trio of NEWMAC All-Conference selections. Casey M. Flynn ’10 and Stephanie V. Brenman ’09 represented MIT on the First Team while Samantha F. O’Keefe ’09 was voted to the Second Team.

Flynn collected her third straight All-Conference award and second First-Team pick after pacing the Engineers with 52 goals, 22 assists, and 74 points. Brenman earned her first league accolade by leading MIT in draw controls (46) and groundballs (43), while compiling 19 goals, three assists, 22 points, and 16 caused turnovers. O’Keefe capped of her career with her second-straight honor as she tallied 41 goals, three assists, 44 points, 31 draw controls, 24 groundballs, and 16 caused turnovers.

—Mindy Brauer, DAPER Staff