Ruzevick Leads Men’s Cross Country Team to 10th Consecutive Title

The men’s cross country team began the fall season with victories over the Tech alumni and at the Smith College Invitational. The team had no problem winning their 10th consecutive New England Men’s and Women’s Athletics Conference Championship with a near perfect score of 18 points. Jacob J. Ruzevick ’09 was the team’s top runner, earning NEWMAC Runner of the Year honors while Gihan S. Amarasiriwardena ’11 took the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year award.

MIT had six runners finish in the top 10 overall, including Ruzevick (1st), Jeremiah R. “Yermie” Cohen ’09 (2nd), Joseph D. Roy-Mayhew ’08 (4th), Hemagiri Arumugam ’10 (5th), Jack H. Bourbonnais ’10 (6th), Trevor B. Rundell ’09 (7th), and M. Brian Jacokes G (8th).

Even though Ruzevick was unable to finish the race at the New England Intercollegiate Amateur Athletics Association Championship, MIT still placed 12th among all New England colleges, including Division I, II, and III teams.

At the NCAA Division III Regional meet, MIT finished in sixth place out of 47 teams, just one spot short of qualifying for the national championship.

Halston W. Taylor is the head coach of the men’s cross country team.